Key Takeaways
- • CME has listed cash-settled UNI futures (standard contract of 10,000 UNI and micro contract of 1,000 UNI) for the October 19, 2026 trade date under Special Executive Report 9820, with 10 contract months running through March 2028.
- • Both contracts settle financially against the CME CF Uniswap Dollar Reference Rate (UNIUSD_RR), a once-daily index of eligible UNI dollar market trades, so no UNI tokens change hands at expiry.
- • CME's market maker program, under rule filing 26-480, may designate up to seven firms to provide continuous two-sided quotes from October 19, 2026 through January 31, 2027, with the selected firms not yet named.
- • The launch does not send trading fees to the Uniswap protocol and confers no governance rights; open interest over the coming months will be the key measure of whether institutions adopt the contracts.
- • Contract volume and launch-day activity cannot be read as evidence of spot UNI buying, as CME does not disclose hedging behind trades or client breakdowns specific to UNI.
Summary
The exchange lists a standard future representing 10,000 UNI and a micro future representing 1,000 UNI. At an illustrative $7 per UNI, a standard contract would carry $70,000 of notional exposure and a micro contract $7,000; the $7 figure is a round example rather than a market snapshot. Both contracts are cash settled, with the final settlement price referencing the CME CF Uniswap Dollar Reference Rate on the last trading date. CF Benchmarks describes that rate as a once-daily index aggregating eligible UNI dollar market trades from constituent exchanges. Trading in an expiring contract ends at 4 p.m. London time on the last Friday of the contract month, subject to holiday adjustments. CME also lists basis trading at index close (BTIC) facilities, with BUN and BMU codes for the standard and micro products.
The futures market is distinct from Uniswap's onchain liquidity pools. A futures position provides economic price exposure but does not confer governance voting rights, does not execute swaps through Uniswap's contracts, and generates no trading fees for the protocol. Uniswap's token economics have changed since launch, including the UNIfication fee switch that directs certain protocol fees into UNI purchases and burns, but those figures are recorded onchain and cannot be substituted with CME open interest. CME has not disclosed the number of clients seeking UNI exposure or provided a forecast for contract volume. Its first-half 2026 crypto derivatives averages of 279,800 contracts per day and $8.3 billion daily notional predate the UNI launch and cannot be presented as UNI-specific demand evidence.
Under rule filing 26-480, CME established a market maker program for the Bitcoin Cash and UNI futures, beginning October 19 and running through January 31, 2027 unless changed, extended or ended. Up to seven participants, members or nonmembers, may be selected through a competitive application process and must quote continuous two-sided markets within specified maximum spreads and minimum sizes. The filing does not name the selected firms or disclose the incentive amounts. Contract-level volume, open interest, quoted depth and actual spreads across multiple sessions will be needed to judge whether the market can sustain commercial depth after the program period. The standard contract's minimum price fluctuation is $0.0025 per UNI ($25 per contract), and the micro contract's is $0.00125 per UNI ($1.25 per contract), with different increments applying to BTIC and calendar spread transactions.
Go deeper than the headline
Research every firm in this story, track the ones that matter and get the daily briefing — free for 7 days.