Key Takeaways
- • Moody's assigned Ripple's RLUSD stablecoin an A2 long-term and Prime-1 short-term deposit rating, the first stablecoin to receive an investment-grade Moody's rating according to Ripple executive Jack McDonald.
- • The rating covers RLUSD obligations issued by Standard Custody & Trust Company, Ripple's New York-regulated subsidiary, which operates under New York State Department of Financial Services oversight.
- • Reports put reserve coverage at approximately 103% of outstanding tokens, with BNY as primary reserve custodian and reserves consisting principally of cash and short-dated U.S. government securities.
- • A2 is investment-grade but not Moody's top long-term grade (Aaa), and the rating does not guarantee redemption, insure deposits, or establish bank approval for RLUSD use.
- • RLUSD's market capitalization was cited near $2.5 billion, while Moody's publicly accessible notice does not disclose its full analytical rationale.
Summary
Moody's methodology evaluates reserve asset quality, legal segregation and liquidity, drawing on conventional credit analysis. Under the agency's scales, A2 is investment-grade but is not Moody's highest long-term grade, which is Aaa. Prime-1 is its highest short-term category. Reports cite reserve coverage of approximately 103%, with reserves reportedly held principally in cash and short-dated U.S. government securities and BNY serving as primary custodian. That figure reflects assets exceeding liabilities at the reported measurement point and does not represent a permanent buffer against liquidity or operational risk. The available materials do not establish how much of the reserve portfolio could be liquidated immediately under heavy redemption requests.
The rating arrived during Ripple's Swell conference week and alongside an October 27 expansion of its institutional custody collaboration with BNY, which added custody support for XRP and RLUSD and explored tokenized trade finance. BNY's statement placed RLUSD's market capitalization near $2.5 billion, a figure representing tokens outstanding rather than amounts held by institutional customers. Standard Chartered launched institutional RLUSD custody through its Dubai International Financial Centre branch on October 12, while a proposed collateral arrangement with LMAX Group remains subject to approvals and testing. Ripple's agreement with Cross River Bank concerns integrating RLUSD into the bank's payment infrastructure for dollar transfers and round-the-clock settlement, though it does not establish that all Cross River customers can already make stablecoin payments.
Moody's rating is distinct from S&P Global Ratings' stablecoin stability assessments, which use a numerical scale and have covered Circle's USDC and Tether's USDT. Those scores cannot be compared directly with RLUSD's deposit ratings. No public announcement examined establishes that Circle or Tether has applied under Moody's methodology. Ripple has not disclosed new RLUSD transaction volume, bank mandates or redemption activity tied to the decision, and the accessible materials do not identify a next review date or conditions that could prompt a change in the rating. A credit rating does not guarantee redemption, alter the dollar peg, or confirm bank approval for institutional use, and custody access and collateral eligibility remain separate operational decisions.
Go deeper than the headline
Research every firm in this story, track the ones that matter and get the daily briefing — free for 7 days.